Xhaka to lead Switzerland at 2022 World Cup | News

Granit Xhaka is set to captain Switzerland at the World Cup in Qatar after being included in their 26-man squad for the tournament.

As expected, the national team skipper has been selected for his third World Cup and joins teammates Takehiro Tomiyasu, Gabriel Jesus and Gabriel Martinelli heading to the Middle East for the showpiece of world football.

In fact, that could mean we’ll see three of our players in the same game, with the Swiss drawn in the same group as Brazil, along with Cameroon and Serbia.

After a friendly against Ghana – which could feature Thomas Partey – on Thursday, November 17, Granit could make his ninth World Cup appearance against Cameroon a week later, ahead of the game against Jesus and Martinelli four days later.

Then, on Friday December 2, our midfielder could face Serbia as the Swiss aim to reach the knockout stages for the fourth time in the last five World Cups, this 12th appearance.

With 106 caps and 12 goals to his name for his country since making his debut in 2011, Granit is one of the team’s most experienced players and played in all of their matches in the 2014 and 2018 tournaments, scoring just one goal in each. edition including one against the Serbs in Russia four years ago.

It will be his first tournament as captain, having taken over from veteran defender Stephan Lichtsteiner who retired from football two years ago.

Swiss team confirmed

Goalkeepers: Gregor Kobel (Borussia Dortmund), Philipp Kohn (RB Salzburg), Jonas Omlin (Montpellier), Yann Sommer (Borussia Mönchengladbach)

Defenders: Manuel Akanji (Manchester City), Eray Comert (Valencia), Nico Elvedi (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Ricardo Rodriguez (Torino), Fabian Schar (Newcastle United), Silvan Widmer (Mainz)

Midfielders: Granit Xhaka (Arsenal), Edimilson Fernandes (Mainz), Fabian Frei (Basel), Remo Freuler (Nottingham Forest), Ardon Jashari (Lucerne), Fabian Rieder (Young Boys), Xherdan Shaqiri (Chicago Fire), Djibril Sow (Eintracht Frankfurt), Renato Steffen (Lugano), Denis Zakaria (Chelsea), Michel Aebischer (Bologna)

Forwards: Breel Embolo (Monaco), Christian Fassnacht (Young Boys), Noah Okafor (RB Salzburg), Haris Seferovic (Galatasaray), Ruben Vargas (Augsburg)

Copyright 2022 Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to proper credit being given to www.arsenal.com as the source.

Leave a Comment