World Cup brackets explained

FIFA 2022 world Cup will take place in Qatar. As always, it will start with the group stage fixtures, and there’s a lot of buzz about some standout teams. Group E includes RB Leipzig midfielder Daniel Olmo with Spain, the 2010 world champion, while the Leipzig striker Timo Werner leads a 2014 World Cup winning Germany. Germany failed to qualify for the group stages at the last World Cup, so there is a lot of speculation that they have a ax to grind!
Timo Werner

Timo Werner

© Christoph Neumann / The Red Bulletin

The fifa world cup is more than a major international competition; it is the largest international competition in the world. It dates back to 1930 and is held every four years. Meanwhile, the audience exploded! According Fifa, the 2018 Cup attracted more than 3.5 billion viewers, with the final gathering more than 1 billion viewers. In 2022, FIFA forecasts a total audience of 5 billion.

World Cup brackets explained

In the tournament’s more than 90-year history, Brazil have won the most titles with five, while Germany have the most championship appearances with eight. Will the two face off at the start of the tournament or closer to the final? It all comes down to support.

Bebeto World Cup 1994

Bebeto World Cup 1994

© Mark Leech

There are six FIFA World Cup qualifying tournaments to determine who nations win the 32 places. These tournaments integrate the six continents with the member nations of FIFA and their respective confederations: CAF (Africa), AFC (Asia), UEFA (Europe), CONCACAF (North America), OFC (Oceania) and CONMEBOL (South America). ).

There are a set number of places available for each continent, and these allocations have changed over the years as the FIFA World Cup has expanded and the balance of power in football has changed. There are alternative routes to the World Cup which result in playoff matches where nations from different continental zones will compete in a knockout format for a World Cup spot. We will explain below their entry into the group stages.

The host country (or countries) receives an automatic place in the tournament. In 2018, Russia got this place, and this year it will go to Qatar.
There are two phases of play in the World Cup: the group stage and the knockout stage. The World Cup opens with the group stage. The field of 32 nations is divided into eight groups of four teams.


2022 FIFA World Cup groups

  • Qatar

  • Ecuador

  • Senegal

  • Netherlands

  • England

  • Iran

  • United States

  • Wales

  • Argentina

  • Saudi Arabia

  • Mexico

  • Poland

  • France

  • Australia

  • Denmark

  • Tunisia

  • Spain

  • Costa Rica

  • Germany

  • Japan

  • Belgium

  • Canada

  • Morocco

  • Croatia

  • Brazil

  • Serbia

  • Swiss

  • Cameroon

  • Portugal

  • Ghana

  • Uruguay

  • South Korea

Groups are determined by their FIFA World Rankings. The pool of 32 nations is divided into pots of eight teams: the host country and the seven highest-ranked nations form one pot, the next eight highest-ranked nations form the next pot, and so on. Teams that qualify for the World Cup through alternate routes are automatically placed in the fourth and lowest pot. Once the four pots have been decided, one nation from each pot is drawn into a group.

Each team plays three matches in the group stage: one match against all other nations in their group. Teams receive three points for a win, one point for a draw, and no points for a loss. After the group stage, the top two teams from each group will advance to the knockout stage for a grand total of sixteen nations.

Tie-breaking measures are in place to resolve situations where nations end the group stage with the same number of points. The first tiebreaker is goal differential, which means that if two teams are tied on points, the team with the better goal differential takes first place. Once the group stage is over and the sixteen teams have been chosen, it is time to move on to the knockout stage.

Reaching the knockout stage is a big deal, but it’s all about perspective. All teams have their eyes on the championship. At this point, they haven’t even played half the games needed to achieve this.

Unlike the group stage, the knockout round is single-elimination. This means that the winners go forward and the losers go home; there are no prints. If a game is tied after 90 minutes, the game goes into extra time, and an additional thirty minutes to determine a winner. If a game is still tied after that, the game goes to a penalty shootout. Whoever wins will move on to the next round.

There are four knockout rounds: Round of 16, Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Championship Final/Third Place Game. Setup is as simple as it gets, if you win your match you move on to the next round.

If a nation reaches the semi-finals match, they are guaranteed an extra match, with the winners advancing to the championship final and the losers advancing to the third-place match.

If you are lucky enough to win all four of your knockout matches, you will be crowned FIFA World Cup champions and can establish yourself as one of the greatest international teams ever assembled.

The FIFA World Cup is the most popular international competition in the world. It attracts billions of eyes when people tune in to watch their home country, their favorite football players or just great football action. It’s a moment when fans gather to applaud, mock and appreciate the overall competence and decades of coaching displayed in the field.

Leave a Comment