World Cup 2022 FAQ: Everything you need to know about tournament in Qatar

The 2022 FIFA World Cup kicks off on November 20 with host country Qatar opening the tournament against Ecuador. Here’s everything you need to know about this year’s edition of the tournament.

Where will the 2022 FIFA World Cup take place?

In 2010, FIFA granted Qatar the right to host the 2022 World Cup over bids from the United States and Japan. This will be the first ever World Cup hosted in the Middle East.

Why does the World Cup take place in the fall?

Although historically held in the summer, the 2022 World Cup will start on November 20 and end with the final on December 18. The tournament was moved to the fall due to extreme temperatures in Qatar during the summer.

How can I watch the FIFA World Cup 2022?

You can watch the 2022 FIFA World Cup on the FOX Sports family of networks – the official English language broadcast partner of the tournament in the United States – and the FOX Sports app. You can also stream full replays of World Cup matches on Tubi for free.

[How to watch the 2022 World Cup on FOX]

Where will the games be played?

Although smaller than the state of Connecticut, the tournament will be played at eight different locations in Qatar: Al Bayt Stadium, Ahmad Bin Stadium, Al Janoub Stadium, Al Thumama Stadium, Education City Stadium, Khalifa International Stadium, 974 and Lusail stadium. , of which the latter will host the Final.

How many teams will participate in the World Cup?

This year’s tournament will feature 32 teams divided into eight different four-letter groups from A to H. However, from 2026 the number of teams will be increased to 46 for the first time.

What happens after the group stage?

The winner and runner-up from each group will advance to the knockout stage, starting with the round of 16. From there, it will be a bracket-style knockout tournament.

[FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 Bracket Challenge]

Who is the favorite to win the 2022 World Cup?

According to FOX Bet, Brazil are the favorites to win the tournament with +450 odds, followed by England at +500, and France and Argentina at +550.

Who won the World Cup in 2018?

France lifted the trophy in 2018 and their side have only grown in talent since then. However, the winners of the World Cup have a habit of igniting in the group stage at the next tournament.

Did the United States Men’s National Team qualify for the World Cup?

Yes. After failing to qualify for the World Cup in 2018, the United States Men’s National Team will return to football’s biggest stage and expectations will be high for the young Yanks.

[Get to know the USMNT’s 26-man World Cup roster]

In the future, who will host the 2026 World Cup?

The United States, Canada and Mexico will host the World Cup in 2026. The United States hosted the World Cup in 1994 and Mexico hosted the World Cup in 1986. Canada has never hosted a Men’s World Cup, but hosted the Women’s World Cup in 2015.

Get more from the 2022 FIFA World Cup Follow your favorites for game insights, news and more

Leave a Comment