What is FIFA? Explaining who is running world soccer, what the name stands for and president of governing body ahead of Qatar World Cup 2022

As football fans around the world prepare for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, the game’s governing body, FIFA, is on everyone’s lips. But what is FIFA?

Being in charge of hosting the World Cup is just part of FIFA’s operations, which come under greater scrutiny in 2022 than in any other World Cup year.

The years leading up to the tournament made headlines for Qatar’s human rights record, with FIFA repeatedly explaining its decision to host the World Cup in the peninsular Arab country.

In this article, we will explore the structure of FIFA, its role in football, and the history of the FIFA World Cup.

What is FIFA?

With its stated aim being “to govern football and develop the game throughout the world”, FIFA was founded in 1904.

After starting with just eight member countries, FIFA has grown to a membership of 211 national football associations.

Founded in Paris in response to the growing need for a single body to oversee the sport of football, given the growing popularity of international matches, FIFA staged its first football tournament at the 1908 Olympics in London.

MORE: Ultimate guide to the 2022 World Cup for casual fans and first-timers

The first World Cup was held in Uruguay in 1930, and the 2022 World Cup in Qatar will be the 22nd edition of the tournament.

FIFA says it has “moved rapidly” since 2016, which marked the aftermath of the arrests of several FIFA officials during an investigation into wire fraud, racketeering and money laundering.

What does FIFA stand for?

FIFA is the acronym for Fédération internationale de Football Association, which in French means “Fédération internationale de football association”.

The use of the FIFA acronym around the world reflects the organization’s history as a federation founded in Paris in 1904.

The FIFA acronym has become even more famous thanks to the global success of EA Sports’ FIFA video game series, which is available in 51 countries and is the best-selling sports video game franchise in the world.

Who is the President of FIFA?

Italian-Swiss football administrator Gianni Infantino is the current FIFA President.

Infantino became the ninth permanent president of the federation when he was elected in 2016. He was previously a member of FIFA’s reform committee.

MORE: FIFA World Cup 2022 schedule: Full match dates, times, team fixtures for Qatar tournament

Infantino’s election as FIFA President took place during the 2016 FIFA Extraordinary Congress, during which a series of landmark reforms to the federation’s governance structure were made.

Infantino’s senior vice president, Salman bin Ibrahim Al Khalifa, is a member of Bahrain’s royal family.

History of FIFA Presidents:

Last name Country To take place left office Remarks
Robert Guerin France May 23, 1904 June 4, 1906
Daniel Burley Woolfall UK June 4, 1906 October 24, 1918 Died in office
Cornelis August Wilhelm Hirschman Netherlands October 24, 1918 March 1, 1921 Temp worker
Jules Rimet France March 1, 1921 June 21, 1954
Rodolphe Seeldrayers Belgium June 21, 1954 October 7, 1955 Died in office
Arthur Drewry UK June 9, 1956 March 25, 1961 Died in office
Ernst Thommen Swiss March 25, 1961 September 28, 1961 Temp worker
Stanley Rous UK September 28, 1961 May 8, 1974
Joao Havelange Brazil May 8, 1974 June 8, 1998
Sepp Blatter Swiss June 8, 1998 October 8, 2015 indicted
Issa Hayatou Cameroon October 8, 2015 February 26, 2016 Temp worker
Gianni Infantino Italy/Switzerland February 26, 2016 Present

In which country is FIFA based?

FIFA’s headquarters are located in Zurich, Switzerland, in a building completed in 2006.

The complex comprises two upper levels and five underground levels and was built at a cost of around 145 million euros.

The design of the complex, designed by Swiss architect Tilla Theus, includes a fitness center, a prayer room and a full-size football pitch.

FIFA World Cup History

The FIFA World Cup has provided unforgettable moments for global audiences since the first tournament in 1930.

Uruguay became the first country to win the World Cup, doing so at home in Montevideo after a 4-2 win over South American rivals Argentina.

Four years later, Italy won the World Cup in Rome, beating Czechoslovakia 2-1 after extra time, and the Azzurri retained their title as world champions beating Hungary 4-2 in the final. of 1938 in Paris.

After a 12-year hiatus due to World War II, the World Cup returned in 1950 and Uruguay lifted the World Cup for the second time, beating Brazil, 2-1, in Rio de Janeiro ahead of more than 170,000 people at the Maracana Stadium. .

MORE: FIFA World Cup: Which teams qualified for Qatar 2022? Complete list of 32 nations

West Germany’s victory at the 1954 World Cup in Switzerland preceded an era of Brazilian dominance in which the Selecao won three out of four World Cups between 1958 and 1970, inspired by their mercurial talisman , the great Pelé.

England’s only World Cup victory punctuated Brazil’s glory years, with Bobby Moore lifting the Jules Rimet Trophy in 1966 at Wembley Stadium in London.

West Germany won a second World Cup title on home soil in 1974, before Argentina won two World Cups, in 1978 and 1986, either side of Italy’s triumph in 1982 in Spain.

Diego Maradona helped Argentina to glory in Mexico in 1986, but was powerless to stop West Germany from beating Argentina, 1-0, to clinch Italy’s World Cup trophy in 1990.

The United States first hosted the World Cup in 1994, with Brazil beating Italy on penalties in the final, but Brazil clinched four years later when host France beat them, 3 -0, in Paris to win the 1998 World Cup.

Brazil’s most recent World Cup triumph was in 2002, when they beat Germany 2-0 in a showpiece final in Yokohama, Japan, and since then four different teams have lifted the trophy.

Italy won the 2006 World Cup in Germany before Spain won their first title four years later in South Africa.

Germany beat Argentina in the 2014 final in Brazil, and four years ago France beat Croatia 4-2 to win the 2018 World Cup on a rainy night in Moscow.

Leave a Comment