Portugal World Cup schedule 2022: Complete fixtures, matches, kickoff times, dates for all games in Qatar

In what will likely be Cristiano Ronaldo’s last World Cup, Portugal will finally aim to win the world’s biggest prize in the Qatar 2022 final.

Portugal have never reached a World Cup final, and the iconic trophy remains one of the few accolades to elude its 37-year-old talisman.

The 2016 European champions have been in mixed form over the past 12 months and had to secure their place in the final via the playoffs, after a poor end to their qualifying campaign.

Fernando Santos’ side find themselves in a tough group for the World Cup, but they will think they are more than capable of putting together a good run of results to meet the challenge.

MORE: Full 2022 World Cup schedule | How many prizes are up for grabs in Qatar?

Portugal 2022 World Cup schedule

Portugal’s quest for a first World Cup will see them face African giants Ghana first in Doha.

A crucial game against Uruguay will follow before Portugal complete the group with a game against South Korea.

Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon would then wait in the round of 16, depending on where Portugal finished in their group.

MORE: Portugal squad for the 2022 World Cup

Group H match schedule

Date Match Time (ET) Stadium
Thu 24 Nov Portugal v Ghana 11:00 Stadium 974
Mon 28 Nov Portugal v Uruguay 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Fri 2 Dec Portugal v South Korea 10:00 a.m. Education City Stadium

Potential Round of 16 schedule – if Portugal finish 1st in Group H

Date Match Time (ET) Stadium
Tue 6 Dec Round of 16 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Sat 10 Dec Quarter-finals 10:00 a.m. Al Thumama Stadium
Wed 14 Dec Semi-finals 2:00 p.m. Al Bayt Stadium
Sat 17 Dec* Match for third place 10:00 a.m. Khalifa International Stadium
Sun 18 Dec Final 10:00 a.m. Lusail Stadium

*Only in case of defeat in the semi-finals

Potential elimination schedule – if Portugal finish 2nd in Group H

Date Match Time (ET) Stadium
Mon 5 Dec Round of 16 2:00 p.m. Stadium 974
Fri 9 Dec Quarter-finals 10:00 a.m. Education City Stadium
Tue 13 Dec Semi-finals 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Sat 17 Dec* Match for third place 10:00 a.m. Khalifa International Stadium
Sun 18 Dec Final 10:00 a.m. Lusail Stadium

*Only in case of defeat in the semi-finals

Portugal World Cup Group: Group H

A collection of deceptively good teams, Group H stands as one of Qatar’s tightest battles.

While Portugal will bring the most stars, Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea also have their big players.

All four teams have enjoyed strong performances at the World Cups and look capable of strengthening in Qatar.

On paper, Portugal should be the group leader, but those top two spots really could belong to anyone.

Group H World Cup Betting Odds

Pre-tournament betting odds for Spain and other Group E teams in key global territories are listed below (odds via BetMGM for US, Sky Bet for UK, Sports Interaction for Canada and Ladbrokes for Australia).

Crew To win the group
Portugal -145 (WE) 8/11 (UK) 1.67 (BOX) 1.62 (AU)
Uruguay +200 (WE) 2/1 (UK) 3.03 (BOX) 2.80 (AU)
Ghana +900 (WE) 9/1 (UK) 1:00 p.m. (BOX) 11.00 (AU)
South Korea +900 (WE) 10/1 (UK) 9.00 (BOX) 12:00 p.m. (AU)
Crew To qualify
Portugal -500 (WE) 1/6 (UK) 1.17 (BOX) 1.14 (AU)
Uruguay -250 (WE) 2/5 (UK) 1.51 (BOX) 1.40 (AU)
Ghana +225 (WE) 9/4 (UK) 3.29 (BOX) 3.50 (AU)
South Korea +240 (WE) 11/4 (UK) 3.28 (BOX) 3.50 (AU)
Crew Win the world cup
Portugal +1400 (WE) 14/1 (UK) 9.41 (BOX) 3:00 p.m. (AU)
Uruguay +4000 (WE) 40/1 (UK) 25.28 (BOX) 41.00 (AU)
Ghana +25000 (WE) 250/1 (UK) 152 (BOX) 251 (AU)
South Korea +25000 (WE) 200/1 (UK) 152 (BOX) 251 (AU)

World Cup Group H standings

Crew PLS generalist O L D GF Georgia GD
H1: Portugal 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
H2: Ghana 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
H3: Uruguay 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
H4: South Korea 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

When will Portugal take on Ghana at the 2022 World Cup?

  • Date: Thursday, November 24, 2022 (Stadium 974)
  • Time: 7:00 p.m. (local time) / 11:00 a.m. (ET) / 4:00 p.m. (GMT) / 3:00 a.m. (Friday, November 25 AEDT)

Portugal and Ghana have been drawn in the same group for the second time in three World Cups.

In 2014, Portugal secured a 2-1 win over Ghana – with Ronaldo scoring the winner – but that wasn’t enough to see either team escape from a group dominated by Portugal. Germany and the United States.

When is Portugal vs Uruguay at the 2022 World Cup?

  • Date: Monday, November 28, 2022 (Lusail Stadium)
  • Time: 10:00 p.m. (local time) / 2:00 p.m. (ET) / 7:00 p.m. (GMT) / 6:00 a.m. (Tuesday, November 29 AEDT)

The last time Portugal and Uruguay faced each other was at the 2018 World Cup, where it was the South Americans who prevailed 2-1 in the Round of 16.

Portugal will be desperate for revenge in Qatar, with victory in this game likely to be crucial to their hopes of finishing top of Group H.

When will Portugal take on South Korea at the 2022 World Cup?

  • Date: Friday, December 2, 2022 (Education City Stadium)
  • Time: 6:00 p.m. (local time) / 10:00 a.m. (ET) / 3:00 p.m. (GMT) / 2:00 a.m. (Saturday, December 3 AEDT)

Two other teams with World Cup history and that’s another memory Portugal will want to forget.

South Korea won their last and only game 1-0 at the 2002 World Cup in a result that saw Portugal fail to escape their group.

Santos and Ronaldo will be hoping their side can avoid a repeat of that result 20 years later.

How to watch the world cup

Here’s how to watch World Cup action in key global territories:

Territory TV Diffusion
WE FOX/FS1/Telemundo (Spanish)/Universo (Spanish) fuboTV, Fox Sports app, Telemundo En Vivo
Canada TSN TSN GO
UK BBC/ITV/STV BBC iPlayer, ITVX, STV player
Australia SBS SBS on demand
India Sports18 Voot Television

Qatar World Cup Match Schedules

Qatar resides in the Arabic standard time zone, which is GMT +3. The kick-off times for the 2022 World Cup in the main world territories are:

Group stage:

  • 1:00 p.m. (local time) / 5:00 a.m. (ET) / 10:00 a.m. (GMT) / 9:00 p.m. (AEDT) / 3:30 p.m. (IST)
  • 4:00 p.m. (local time) / 8:00 a.m. (ET) / 1:00 p.m. (GMT) / 12:00 a.m. (AEDT) / 6:30 p.m. (IST)
  • 7:00 p.m. (local time) / 11:00 a.m. (ET) / 4:00 p.m. (GMT) / 3:00 a.m. (AEDT) / 9:30 p.m. (IST)
  • 10:00 p.m. (local time) / 2:00 p.m. (ET) / 7:00 p.m. (GMT) / 6:00 a.m. (AEDT) / 12:30 a.m. (IST)

Elimination phase (ET):

  • 6:00 p.m. (local time) / 10:00 a.m. (ET) / 3:00 p.m. (GMT) / 2:00 a.m. (AEDT) / 8:30 p.m. (IST) (round of 16, quarter-finals, match for third place, final)
  • 10:00 p.m. (local time) / 2:00 p.m. (ET) / 7:00 p.m. (GMT) / 6:00 a.m. (AEDT) / 12:30 a.m. (IST) (round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals)

Leave a Comment