England at the 2022 World Cup: who is in Gareth Southgate’s 26-man squad?

November 14 (Reuters) – England are looking to win their second World Cup title from November 20 to December 20. 18 tournament in Qatar. Here’s what you need to know about their team:

How many players are England allowed to bring to Qatar?

* Teams will be able to select up to 26 players for this year’s World Cup after FIFA raised the maximum team limit by three in June, citing the tournament’s unusual schedule as well as the impact of COVID-19.

* Coaches have until November 14 to decide on their final 26-man roster by 6:00 p.m. GMT.

Who is in the England squad for the 2022 World Cup?

The England squad was announced on November 10.

* Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Everton goalkeeper Pickford has been Southgate’s first choice since the 2018 World Cup and started every game of the European Championship last year.

Pope’s form for Newcastle appears to have nailed his place as Pickford’s assistant, while Ramsdale’s impressive performances at Arsenal earned his inclusion on loan from Nottingham Forest Dean Henderson.

* Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Everton, on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Arsenal).

Southgate have opted for four specialist full-backs and five players who play mainly in the center after their options were exhausted by injuries to Chelsea full-backs Reece James and Ben Chilwell.

Walker overcame fitness issues to be included while White was rewarded for a great season. Southgate kept faith in Maguire despite his poor club form which led to him being dropped from the United squad.

* Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United).

Phillips recovered from a shoulder injury in time to make the cut despite lacking in fitness. Gallagher shone for Palace last season and put himself on Southgate’s radar, earning a place despite being used sparingly at Chelsea.

The Bellingham teenager will bring an energetic presence and an eye for opportunity while Rice will provide a solid shield in front of the defense as well as a driving force in midfield.

* Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), James Maddison (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United).

Maddison and Wilson earned their first call-ups in three years after strong starts to the domestic season.

Rashford also returns to the fold after returning to goalscoring form this season and will accompany talisman Kane in the batting department.

What are the notable omissions?

* Southgate has left out several in-form players, including defender Fikayo Tomori (AC Milan), midfielder James Ward-Prowse (Southampton) and forwards Tammy Abraham (AS Roma) and Ivan Toney (Brentford), who have all featured in recent squads.

Which teams will England face in the group stage?

England will face Iran, Wales and the United States in Group B.

Who was in the England squad at the 2018 World Cup?

Twelve of the 26 players called up on Thursday were part of the squad that reached the semi-finals under Southgate in Russia, where they lost to Croatia in extra time.

* Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke City), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley).

Defenders: John Stones (Manchester City), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Young (Manchester United), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Jesse Lingard (Manchester Utd), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Manchester) City).

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester Utd), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal).

Compiled by Hritika Sharma in Bengaluru, edited by Ed Osmond

Our standards: The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.

Leave a Comment