Canada World Cup squad: News and analysis ahead of Qatar 2022 team announcement

In what will be its first World Cup in 36 years, Canada will be looking to surprise everyone at the World Cup this winter.

Under John Herdman’s leadership, Canada has had an incredible journey. They have gone from No. 72 to No. 40 in the FIFA World Rankings since he took charge four years ago and a spirit has been created within the team which has ultimately helped them. to reserve their place in the tournament.

They earned their place at the World Cup the hard way, battling through tTwo first CONCACAF qualifying rounds won ahead of Mexico and the United States.

Canada also has a team full of talent in Alphonso Davies and Jonathan David. Striker Cyle Larin, who currently plays for Club Brugge, has scored 25 goals in 54 appearances at international level.

They will face a tricky group alongside Belgium, Croatia and Morocco, but will be hopeful of making it to the knockout stages of the World Cup.

Canada’s Newest International Team

Guardians: Dayne St. Clair (Minnesota United), Maxime Crepeau (LAFC), Milan Borjan (Red Star Belgrade), Alistair Johnston (Montreal)

Defenders: Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Sam Adekugbe (Hatayspor), Kamal Miller (Montreal), Derek Cornelius (Panetolikos), Richie Laryea (Toronto FC), Scott Kennedy (Jahn Regensburg), Joel Waterman (Montreal), Steven Vitoria (Chaves)

Midfielders: Samuel Piette (Montreal), Ismael Kone (Montreal), Stephen Eustaquio (Porto), Mark-Anthony Kaye (Toronto FC), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC)

Forwards: Lucas Cavallini (Vancouver Whitecaps), Junior Hoilett (Reading), Theo Corbeanu (Blackpool), Charles-Andreas Brym (FC Eindhoven), Ike Ugbo (Troyes), Luca Koleosho (Espanyol), Cyle Larin (Club Bruges), Liam Millar ( Basel), Jonathan David (Lille), Tajon Buchanan (Club Brugge)

Recent international orders from Canada

Guardians: Milan Borjan (Red Star Belgrade)

Defenders: Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Steven Vitoria (Chaves), Sam Adekugbe (Hatayspor)

Midfielders: Stephen Eustaquio (Porto), Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas), David Wotherspoon (St Johnstone)

Attackers: Junior Hoilett (Reading), Cyle Larin (Club Bruges), Tajon Buchanan (Club Bruges), Liam Millar (Basel), Jonathan David (Lille)

Friday, October 21: Preliminary roster list (35-55 players) to be submitted

Monday, November 14: Final list of 23 to 26 players to submit

Tuesday 15 November: FIFA will officially announce the 32 teams

go further


Provisional World Cup squads explained

(Photo: Getty Images)

Leave a Comment